Sprint’s best customers are hanging up
By Michal Lev-Ram
Churn, or the rate at which customers defect to rival carriers, is one of the most important metrics for measuring the success of a wireless carrier.
Unfortunately for Sprint (S), it has one of the industry’s worst churn rates. On Monday it revealed that 1.09 million of its subscribers decided to take their business elsewhere in the first quarter as the company reported a net loss of $505 million, or 18 cents a share, compared to a loss of $211 million, or 7 cents a share, a year earlier. Revenue dropped 8% from a year ago to $9.33 billion. Excluding a number of one-time charges, such as job-cut costs and merger-related expenses, Sprint’s adjusted profit slid to 4 cents a share from 19 cents a year ago.
Meanwhile, rivals Verizon (VZ), AT&T (T) and T-Mobile (DK) saw their churn rates for postpaid accounts fall during the same period, and their customer base grow. Verizon added 1.5 million wireless subscribers, and 1.3 million new customers signed up with AT&T. Even T-Mobile, the smallest of the top four U.S. carriers, added nearly a million customers the last quarter, tipping its total subscriber base to slightly over 30 million for the first time.
Many of Sprint’s recently-departed subscribers also happen to be some of its best customers. That means that a large percentage of defecting Sprint users are the type of people likely to pay for higher-priced data plans, pay extra fees for text messaging and downloading ringtones or buy more expensive phones. That is a big part of the reason Sprint’s average revenue per customer declined by about $2 compared to the first quarter of 2007.
“We continue to place the highest priority on reducing churn by improving the customer experience,” CEO Dan Hesse said in a statement Monday.
He told analysts on a conference call Monday that he is investing to acquire new customers as well as to keep existing ones from fleeing.
Improving customer service and simplifying rate plans are two ways Sprint is trying to keep retain subscribers. Later this summer, the company will also launch an iPhone competitor it hopes will provide an incentive for customers to stay – current customers, as opposed to new subscribers, will have first dibs on a Samsung touchscreen called the Instinct.
But it will likely be some time before those changes turn around Sprint’s churn rate. Hesse, however, is optimistic. On Monday he told analysts that in March, “We began to see improving trends in churn.”
if you actually think only Sprint uses overseas calling centers you shouldnt be aloud to reproduce. I called Xm radio and had to call 3 times to cancel just so i could get a less thick accent. I had verizon and the same thing…..complaing gets you no where. Come into my store and ill show you good customer care. the people complaing are the ones who have had every provider at least once, and you’ll probably jump ship again because thats what you like to do. Complain and moan and go somewhere else. Repeat repeat repeat. AWESOME
As a customer of all of the big 3 phone companies, I was thinking of switching my pathetic AT&T cell service to Sprint. Can you make quality phone calls without losing the line? That should be the most important criteria–not customer service. Chances are you are not dealing with the company directly, but with a reseller. If you hate dealing with people, use the internet at a library to contact them. You have a written record of the interaction and can file a formal complaint with an agency like the FCC if you receive no satisfaction.
I have worked with many wireless carriers (with the exception of T-Mobile….thank God)and to say 1 company is truly this bad looks like people have an axe to grind, a lot of times people bring their own issues upon themselves. For example people do not pay attention to their warranties, the plans they signed up for and do not listen to the sales associates when they explain the plans, sure there are some associates that slam people (all carriers have that) but there are good and bad experiences with ALL carriers and services work differently everywhere, that being said all of the wireless carriers are decent companies and you being the consumer need to do research and see what works best for you and if you do not thats on you!!!
I’ve been with Sprint for 8 years, I’ve had two bad customer service experiences with them but I didn’t find it out of the norm.
I had worse experiences with AT&T/Cingular when I was with them.
My phone plan at Sprint can’t be beat so I won’t move to another company any time soon.
I’ve been a Sprint customer for about 10 years, and have great experiences almost 100% of the tims. I’m a satisfied customer.
Sprint overcharged our small company over $50,000.00. We caught them and asked for the over-payments to be refunded. they have refused. Read the full story on http://www.sprint-really-sucks.com
I signed on with Sprint in January 2008.
And this company uses bait and switch tactics just like it is the normal thing to do to lure in their customers.
I was promised a particular plan for 2 years. This is now my 5th month with Sprint.
I have never received a monthly statement that was accurate to this date either.
What is going on within this company.
A company cannot survive if they do not stop making up the rules as they go along from one call to the next call.
Nobody appears to care anymore about customer relations.
With there being so many bad problems that far outway any good that comes from this company as a whole should be a perfect example of why Sprint should not continue to outsource their jobs.
Get someone to run this company the right way, or this Company will too be forced to close it’s doors too.
we have been customers of sprint since Jan 1,2008 and ever since the 31st day after signing that contract they gave us more than we asked for headaches,stress,lies,and bad customer service first from the person that picks up the phone then from the managers, then from personnel in the Dan Hesse office, now i’m waiting to speak with the CEO Mr.Dan Hesse him self.If i broke my contract i’d have to pay over $200 so the same should apply to the company. I want what i was promised, and i want this company to stop making changes to my plan without my knowledg and consent,or they can give me back all the money i’v paid out to the sprint company for the phone,the accessories,and the bills so i can go back home to Verizon
Sprint is a living nightmare. When I moved up here, I went in to talk to them about getting a phone and was informed that I would be charged extra every time my husband called from Iraq. And the rep couldnt even tell me why, just that she was told to inform all military of the fact. When I spoke to a manager about it, he said it “had something to do with towers, he didn’t entirely know.” I walked out and across the street to Cricket. No contract, 75 bucks a month for everything you can think of, and Ive never had an issue with customer service.
The Good and Bad. Fortunately, I am a long time Sprint customer, I have an account through our company and corporate accounts access a different customer service line (U.S. Based) I have had great luck but the few times I contacted regular CS. It was horrible. outsourced to India. poorly trained and only concerned with you paying your account, between he language barrier, hard to understand accents ( on both ends) I can see that a customer service call can end up in frustration, ALOT of time, unresolved issues and a change in carriers.
It is hard to imagine a more poorly run company than Sprint. My neighbor signed up for Sprint wireless last October and has yet to receive a bill from them. They cut off his service for not paying a bill that he did not receive. I got him started again by copying his bills off the internet, he does not have a computer. He has called and written Sprint’s customer service department many times to no avail. Sprint’s customer service consists of Indians, who are poor in English but rich in arrogance.
I bought a quarter-million dollar apartment on a signature loan and I’m ahead of the payments by 3 years, Sprint put a $100 limit on my account and refused to remove it. My phone was cut off every month for almost a year when I reached my limit and Sprint demanded I pay more with my credit card. I’m an AT&T customer now with an iPhone and my bill has never been over $100. I’ll never be a Sprint customer again!
All you people are ranting about nothing. Customer service went overseas with the rest of the jobs here in America. After all Sprint still has the cheapest rate plans along w/ unlimited data w/ powervision. My monthly bill is $55 could’nt be happier. Any other company is like filling up your gas tanks, only going to cost more and more.
I really have to agree that customer service was Sprints Achilles heal. I have sprint and I realized that they really don’t have things together. I recently received a notice and bill from them that they were going to turn off our phones because we owed them $15,000. I was shocked that they would be so disorganized to not catch something like that. There is a big difference between $15,000 and $67. Needless to say when our contracts are up my family will be moving to at&t.
I left Verizon for all of the same reasons most put here concerning Sprint. My son left them, went to T-Mobile, and is leaving them.
My Sprint phone works where no one else’s does, period. All vendors we use are on the same page.
Word of mouth is a great tool to destroy a person, company, any entity you have an ax to grind with.
To say or think that Sprint is the only company with those issues is ludicrous. Customer service at all companies are like this. Remember, press 1 for English is where it started. My preference, ban the damn things and the world will be a better place.
Sprint can look at its poor customer service for reasons why some of us have never tried them in the first place. I’ve known two people who, upon terminating accounts at the end of their contracts, had collection agencies after them for balances of either 4 cents or 13 cents. I am quite certain that neither person deliberately withheld pennies upon paying their final balances and the idea that Sprint is willing to risk their reputations by torturing former customers and their credit ratings is appalling. Oh, and upon paying those pennies to stop the problem? More late fees in subsequent collections for another small number of pennies.
Forget that Sprint seems to be the last company to offer anything I’d want (first it was the Razor, then it was a Blackberry when it seemed that every other carrier had them, etc.)
After 9 years of faithfully paying my 3 Sprint bills automatically (one for my business, a personal and one for my mom). I requested that they close my mom’s phone due to her not using it. They wanted to charge me 250 dollars to close an account with two months left on the contract. I reminded them that I’ve been a loyal customer for all this time and i’m still keeping 2 lines. Bottom line: They lost all 3 of my accounts at the end. Churn this! I’m really happy with T-Mobile now.
I’ve had Sprint for 12 years and on a family plan with 6 phones. I signed up for one of their no-overage plans a fews years ago that includes all additional minutes for as little as 1.7 cents and a maxiumum of 5 cents. We use thousands of minutes and between the generous 7pm nites and free roaming (on Verizon in the Bay Area) the bill comes to less than $160 with taxes! I added the GPS location service for $10/month for all 6 phones.
I’ve had all kinds of problems with customer service over the years but they always manage to fix it in a way that ends up over-crediting my account.
Hey, people are complaining about all the cell phone companies. I at least know I’m saving plenty using sprint.
The network works very well (maybe because I’m the only subscriber left:)
My wife and I had a sprint contract for three years. I got so tired of having to call customer service to fix my bill. Almost every month I was calling to fix the same problems over and over again. The day that ended it for me was when I called and got a lady that I could not understand her because her accent was so bad (Indian I believe). So I asked to speak to a manager. The guy was a complete prick to me, telling me that I dont have to be rude to his people on the phone. I was not rude at all, just asked to speak to a manager, that was it. So to make a long story short, I told him to stick it. Cancel our plans. I was actually going to upgrade our phones which would have extended our contract another 2 years. So glad I didnt. I have been with AT&T for the past 2 years now and could not be happier. No problems what so ever.
I was one of them..
changed the rules in the middle.. when I got my single line I was told I could add another for $10 and keep my plan, but when I tried I was told it was not $20 and I had to change my plan.
Hello Alltel, good bye sprint.
After 9/11 we were unable to get Sprint service on our phones in downtown Manhattan. Sprint refused to comp us for the several weeks of no service followed by a few months of intermittent service.
Sprint is one of the worse wireless services ever. I have been a customer for 3years now. and I’ve only been a customer for so long because sprint kept finding ways to extend my contract.the service sucks the customer service sucks and company seems to hate its user. the do however have the best phones.
I am a long time Sprint customer, I love their network and have never had a problem with the hardware, coverage or general network. However, the customer service is outragiously bad. Virtually all customer service interaction is bad, from terrible web site, to poor service at the 800 # and poor service at the retail store. If it were not for the fact that I have the direct number to a local business account manager, who is excellent at fixing my problems, I would have changed years ago.
As a Sprint customer for many years, my biggest grievance with Sprint is the lack of high end quality phones. Five years ago Sprint was the leader on smart phones and it was the reason I became a customer but at one point they started offering lower end phones with very few capabilities. They totally missed on the Razr phenomenal and now they are late to the Blackberry party and a no show to the iPhone party.
Another poster wrote: “Sprint customer service is horrible! I was on the phone with them for over 30 minutes to make 2 simple changes to my plan. Then when I got the bill, they had totally screwed it up and added the wrong services to the wrong phones. They also screwed up my order to add a phone at Christmas, and my son’s phone didn’t arrive until AFTER Christmas! In the process, they totally messed up our billing. I have no problems with the actual phone service, but God help you if you want to make any changes to your plan…Your account will be screwed up for months until they final get a clue and figure out how to fix it.”
Amen, a simple equipment upgrade has taken me over 8 hours of my time, 4 letters, several calls to them to try and fix, and it’s not fixed yet… that upgrade was early March, it’s now May. You want resolution, call their Executive & Regulatory Services Dept at 866 727 0665. I was a very satisfied customer until this upgrade went very wrong.
I was with SPRINT since the SPRINT Spectrum days of the $15.00 for 15 minute plans. I stuck with them for about 12 years, but as a loyal customer through the good and the bad, I felt as if I was not treated as a valued customer. The support, even after paying ridiculous prices for there service, was non-existent. For that, and the introduction of the iPhone, I left with no remorse or regret.
I pride myself on being a loyal customer, even though it had more to do with the fact that back then numbers were not allowed to be ported, and endured enough awful service to leave after so long. They were the leaders at one point in time, but better get there act together with customer service, equipment quality and overall price plans. They may lose out on getting you with those over the minute/txt/roaming fees, but will profit more from each individual customer in the long run without the consequences of them leaving by the masses.
I recently renewed my contract with Sprint and bought two new telephones. A $100 rebate was promised and I submitted the paperwork as required. I received a post card about a month later that said I did not submit the forms before the deadline and my rebate request was denied. I will not renew with Sprint again. I urge anyone considering a Sprint phone & service to look elsewhere. “Caveat emptor, let the buyer beware.”
A lot has been said about their customer service. I really don’t know how good or bad it is. However, I do know how good their phone system is where I live. I carry a hybrid Sprint/Nextel phone and my wife carries an AT&T phone. While her service is very good everywhere we go, mine pretty much sucks…
I have been with them longer than just about anybody on here, and have had very few(if any) issues. Sounds to me like most of the problems are unrealistic customers, with unrealistic expectations(give me a new phone now, lmao), and who have never opened their manuals let alone maintained their phones properly. Fault seems to lie with customers most of the time, and the lack of personal accountability has put Sprint in a tough position to determine who the customers worth keeping are. Based on what I have read on here, I would guess they are getting rid of mostly garbage with the occassional error in judgement.
No doubt about it: Sprint customer service is the absolute worst. I wish I had a recording of the last time I called their customer service. The rep was so incredibly confused and moronic that it sounded like a Saturday Night Live routine. I was on the phone for half an hour with her because she just plain didn’t know what to do or who to call. You would have thought that she didn’t even work for Sprint—just happened to be passing by and picked up the phone and started babbling and thinking out loud. The new CEO has his work cut out for him.
I left them a few years back and even then their customer service was horrid.
They were rude, not helpful at all and when I had phone issues and went to the service centers, you would have thought that I was doing them a favor by coming in. Like so many others, I’m enjoying watching them loose money, it was a long time coming
I had a bad experience with them extremely overcharging me on my cell phone bill back in 02′. They charged me like .32 cents per minute when I went over the minutes in my plan totaling about $652 for one month of service. I tried to upgrade my plan and work with them, but the way their customer service handled it really left a bad taste in my mouth. I will never go back to Sprint as long as I live and I hope they go belly up!
I have been w/ Sprint for almost 12 years and YES there have been “issues” but they have always been able to rectify them. I personally know of many people (being in Real Estate and Financing arena, everyone has a cell phone nightmare)with virtually every company out there and they ALL HAVE ISSUES…If you deal with the complaint in a professional manner and avoid losing your temper (yes, this is the hard part) and don’t mind working your way up the food chain, because this is what it takes!Treat people w/ dignity and respect and eventually cooler heads will prevail. Rebate issues : solved – Billing issues: solved – Equipment issues: solved – Contract issues: solved. Time and patience is the key. The moral of this story is to build longevity and stay professional…they will pay dearly to keep a long time customer. I have a $99.99 plan and I can talk, email and surf as much as I want…hard to beat!
Choose a carrier for service area, coverage and price…not a pretty phone
It seems that service quality is a popular complaint among this crowd. Its pretty cliche, but it really does make a difference. I can assure you all carriers have some issue – none are perfect.
To switch gears and help explain pricing/contracts, and why they are important to the carrier.
EX: Prospect reaches out to carrier and explores service options and decides to become a customer.
(Any carrier):
Foots the bill for the majority of the cost of the handset device. Lets use a BB for example.
Device cost to carrier: $400
Device cost to you: $100
Carrier position: -$300
Remaining costs to get you into the door leading up to your service agreement. (advertising, etc.): $70
Carrier position: -$370
So off the bat, they have spent ~$370 to get you to become a customer.
Why a contract? Simple it takes almost 2 years for the carriers to break even. How?
Average customer revenue per month: $52
Average cost to service customer per month: $30
Margin left to repay cost to acquire customer: $22
Break-even point: $370/$22 = 16.8 months.
I hope this helps to some extent. I will refrain from customer Lifetime Value numbers.
If everybody is so worried about sigining the contracts…..why doint it ? Buy a phone at full price and get the service without a contract.
Its ridiculous that you buy expensive phones at more than 50% discounted retail price and say that contracts suck all your money.
Why not try to bring a revolution against such policies backed by the lobby’d govt officials at the highest levels ?
Everyone wants to kick Sprint when it’s down. The new CEO has ONLY been here since December. He is well aware of what plagues the company. Do you think it’s going to get all fixed by tomorrow?
It was prior management that put the company in it’s current position, not Hesse and company.
Hesse see’s the value of Nextel and is keeping it alive.
If you think you are better off with another carrier think again.
And for all of you that are saying a plan change extends your contract you are WRONG.
While Sprint offers a better plan, however, if Sprint wants to stay competitive, they must introduce better phones. Sprint phones are boring, they lack the pizzazz the other rival carriers offer so consumers are moving for cooler functional and more up to date cell phones. For this very reason I might make the change for something more fun and functional.
I have been a Sprint customer for 8 years and yesterday I found out why Sprint has lost a million customers in the first quarter. I went to a Sprint Store in Greenville, S.C. and I wanted to upgrade to the Everything Unlimited Plan and upgrade to a phone(a Palm Phone) . The store staff was rude and hateful to me and they wouldnt sell me what I wanted. When I told them that my contract expired in 60 days they said,”so what! I was so mad that I was in tears and left the store and will likely jump ship also. I gave them a chance to renew my 2-year contract with a more expensive plan and a more expensive phone—–and they treated me like dirt. I have always paid my bill on time also—but now I will give that money to one of their competitors. That is why they have lost a million customers and are still losing them!!!!!
I’ve been a Sprint customer for about 8 years now and the phone service itself is very good. Rarely do I experience a dropped call but when I do its usually because of the other person’s poor coverage. Also, the plan I have can’t be beat pricewise. Nights and weekend minutes start at 7pm as opposed to 9pm for several other carriers.
However, their customer service as many have pointed out totally sucks. Luckily, I don’t need to call it often or else I too would probably leave. They have the most inefficient, poorly organized, poorly trained, confused staff I’ve ever dealt with.
Still, the service and price are great and the phone I have is a tank. Several drops on concrete over 4 years and still works reliably. A $500 iphone would be in a million pieces if you dropped it.
Sprint has just been getting worse. I have been with Sprint for about 8 years and have watched the customer service and reliability of the service decline. It is sad when your friends realize that when they call you , you may not pick up since you might not actually get that call on your cell. I had hoped they would turn things around, so I stayed with Sprint. But after my last trip where I could rarely get any reception, I will be changing my service as soon as possible.
Sprint built it’s own plan rto go out of business. They have the WORST customer service on the planet. Their accounting department is run by jellyfish and their tech support is staffed by idiots. I spent 5 hours trying to get a phone up and running after my first was stolen. You are a cell provider and can’t get a phone running? Yea, I’ll be sure to renew my contract. There isn’t even a feedback link on their website to let them know what a bang up job that they are doing.
I used Sprint for about 5 years and cannot be happier to have dumped them. Terrible customer service every time I called to get help (which unfortunately was quite often with all their issues), poor service coverage even near major cities, and horribly misinformed salespeople in the stores. My billing never seemed to match what they claimed it would be. I have my qualms with AT&T, my new provider, but it is leaps and bounds beyond Sprint in just about every aspect.
sprint is THE worst.
i went out of state for a week back when they charged you extra for making calls out there, so i called up and asked for a particular plan update that allowed me to do that without paying out the nose to for a phone call. they said they put me on the program. i even asked for the employeed ID of the customer service rep.
next thing i know, i’m out on business and my phone gets shut off because i ended up running my bill so high because the customer service rep didn’t put me on the program.
i called up and told them i was supposed to have that and, get this, the customer service rep from the first call didn’t put me on it and didn’t put the call in the records AND gave me a FAKE ID NUMBER!
it was ridiculous! and to remedy the situation? sprint said i had to sign on for another 2 year contract if i wanted them to fix it.
THIS IS WHY PEOPLE LEAVE SPRINT.
terrible service. everyone in my office new when i talked to sprint because they always screwed up something on my bill and never took accountability and refused to fix things.
You reap what you sow.
Treat your customers like crap and they will leave.
Sprint customer service is horrible! I was on the phone with them for over 30 minutes to make 2 simple changes to my plan. Then when I got the bill, they had totally screwed it up and added the wrong services to the wrong phones. They also screwed up my order to add a phone at Christmas, and my son’s phone didn’t arrive until AFTER Christmas! In the process, they totally messed up our billing. I have no problems with the actual phone service, but God help you if you want to make any changes to your plan…Your account will be screwed up for months until they final get a clue and figure out how to fix it.
I can understand why Sprint is experiencing this loss of its customers. When I had some problems with a phone, I found it very difficult to get resolution. My wife had a serious stroke, so it was imperative that I had an operating phone. I was told that I could not have a replacement phone (although we carried insurance) until the phone was sent out for repairs. When I received the “repaired” phone, I made the first call, and then it would not work. When I returned to the store, it was then indicated that there was no replacement phones comparable to that which I had. After an intense exchange, somehow a similar phone was found as a replacement. This phone worked for a short period of time, and when I returned to the store, I moved into a confrontation mode. I asked for the number of the regional manager and was told the store did not have it. I then indicated that I wanted resolution before I left. As the events become more intense (and I must admit that I was loosing patience), it was inferred that I would be forcefully removed from the store if I did not modulate my voice (It was inferred that the police would be called). I told them that this was ok, but that they better be aware that I had a handicapped wife in my van outside of the store. If things progressed to my being arrested (which I was prepared to do), the company better be aware that this action would precipitate more action on my part. When the manager came to the situation, words continued, including my loud comments to be heard by others in the store that I was having difficulty getting a simple problem resolved – a replacement phone that would work.
I was fully prepared to use my lawyers and accept the consequences of my confrontational actions. But, the deceit, condescending behavior of Sprint’s employees, and the reluctance on the part of this store to resolve a simple problem has convinced me that Sprint does not understand customer service, for which I am willing to pay. This company will continue to see an erosion in its customer base if it does implement behavior that is responsive. No amount of glitzy advertising will offset a reputation of indifference and arrogance.
I am particularly concerned that this happens to many, many other individuals (one of whom I talked with while in the store), some of whom are far less likely to engage in confrontation.
Shame on you, Sprint.
Never had any major problems with Sprint. I get a 20% corp discount (thru my work) off of EVERY plan except the phone insurance. Unlimited data/txts for $20/month total, less my discount = $16. Can’t get that anymore but that’s what “loyalty” gets you for sticking with a carrier for years. (switched to them in 2006). Recently upgraded to a Mogul and after rebates/credit for 2 yr renewal, the phone was $50. $50 for a $500-600 phone is awesome. I can’t be happier with Sprint, mainly because of their cheap data rates. I am a huge data hog with my smartphone and it easily saved me tons of money by not going to another carrier who wants 4-6 times that amount. Word of advice; don’t call these clowns. I have twice and never will again. Get with the times and login to your account online and chat with their CSRs online. They’re obviously from India with random ‘American’ generated names, but everything they say is logged and e-mailed to you with a chat session ID, in case something comes up, it’s completely documented what you asked and were told. Just make sure you clearly state your question and leave no grey area and you’ll be set if you ever have to argue your case.
Instead of sponsoring NASCAR for millions of dollars Sprint/Nextel should spend they money on giving their customers better service ! Coast to coast walkie talkie what a joke, try from the front of my house to the end of my driveway. Invest your money in your customers by perhaps offering them some decent phones that work and don’t cost and arm and a leg and better coverage. And by the way its customer service not dodgeball. One call, one person, one solution. Try it! it might work for you.
I have been a long-time Sprint customer (both personal and business account) and must say that I am at the end of my rope with them.
Sprint’s customer service has been nothing less than horrific, particularly since the Nextel acquisition.
Twice I have tried to add a new phone to an existing plan, only to end up being charged double my plan rate instead of the 9.99 that I was supposed to be charged for adding a line. This took numerous calls/hours to resolve, which is unacceptable.
My bill had been correct for the last 3 months, and then suddenly this month I was once again charged double my plan rate. When I called, I was told the problem was that they converted to a new billing system. I asked if it was up to the customer to catch these “conversion” errors or if Sprint was doing anything pro-actively to identify the errors, as a simple report could be run to say “show accounts where the monthly charge is 20% greater than last month”. Of course I was told it was up to the customer to catch Sprint’s billing errors. Careless at best – unethical at worst…
I’ve had nextel (prior to spint merger) and switched to verizon (with their unlimited access but sorry not unlimited downloads!) and then sprint. CS could be frustrating but coverage was good, bills accurate and unlimited was unlimited (even using duns to connect my laptop to web) work switched me to att iPhone and it is dropped calls all the time!!! Att CS is worse than sprints as well! Wish I still had my 6800 phone instead of my ibrick!
Dropped calls are a result of the terrain where you live, the location of the antenna on the tower, and the quality of your phone (your choice). Good luck – if you drop calls at home, chances are that will continue as all major carries share the same tower in many places. AT&T, Sprint, and Verizon all all have trouble where I live.
Fact check: Sprint offers the TREO smart phone as well as the BB.
Customer service in the telco industry has always been bad. Verison’s multiple entities are a real problem. Buy a bundle and ask customer service for help. You will find yourself attempting to resolve a problem with four divisions of a single company.
All wireless carriers have problems. Sprint has manufactured plenty of their own.
I find the service reliable and customer service outstanding. When I ported my number to Sprint there was a problem, they assigned my case to an executive case manager at corporate and worked to resolve it.
Lower your expectations people and don’t abuse customer service reps. Heck, I’ve managed to get HP to replace an eleven month old laptop just by respecting people.
I used to be a Verizon customer. I was with them four years. My service kept getting spottier and spottier. I lost one phone due to it breaking and had to fight with Verizon for a new one which of course extended my contract. In that time I have had “5″ materially advrse increases to my account that Verizon REFUSED to allow me out of my contract allow regulations state they must. After the last raise on fees I again demanded to be let free of my contract as I am tired of getting nickel and dimed to death. It took my three days and “11″ CSR’s to finally end my contract without and early termination fee. Verizon overcharges, double bills, has crappy coverage in my area, and they outright Lie about their contracts and I glad I left them. So all you who think the grass is greener prepare to be very pissed off because Verizon is a joke and don’t even get me started on their land line phones and fios garbage. Read consumerist and you will see how bad Verizon sucks!
I have been with sprint for 7 years now and could not be happier. I have a competitive price plan that no other carrier has been able to beat. I am never on hold for customer service more than a minute or two, and they are always helpful.
To the guy who called Sprint “extortionists” because they wanted $200 for him to terminate his contract, I ask: Did you not sign on a contract? You agreed to this up front, so are they extortionists or are you just whining because you signed and agreed to a contract that you no longer want to be a part of?
Sprint has destroyed the Nextel brand on top of offering a poor customer experience. Their inablity to offer a nonblackberry smart phone has forced our company to convert thousands to AT&T.
RE: Kevin, Albuquerque, NM : May 12, 2008 7:52 pm
Kevin:
You just switched to Sprint on Friday??? Are you insane??? (let’s see, 22 lines x $200.00 cancel fee.)
I hate to tell you Kevin…..You will probably be looking for another job soon once all you’re 22 employees start to complain about all those dropped calls.
Sprint is a dying company, you’ll be the butt of many jokes to come my friend.
Wow I thought I was THe only person with problems with Sprint What a Joke It’s Been The Customer Service Is Something. First thing Is Back IN Aug 07 We were going to change phones with them and up grade but we could not use the new phone because of the drop calls so we called c.services and we spoke to 11 different people concerning the problem we had with the new phone and still could not get it right and then was Charged a Deposit and I have been with sprint as a home owner and also a business owner and still was charge all the extra charges for the new phone that they could not hook up for me and the told me that for the problems we had they will give us a $70.00 Credit towards our bill and then a month later the old phone went dead on us so we called and put us through five different people to get the phone fix and still did not get it to work so they sent us a new phone for 35.00 And when we got the phone we could not get that one to work we were on the phone for over three hours trying to get the phone to work. So to make the story short we got it working and I had to go to a local store for them to fix it and then a month later I was charged 200.00 For the phone that come to us broke and I called them and they told me that I did not send the phone back well I sent it back the same day I got the broke phone. And then when I called about the bill they told me that my contract was renew again for another 2 years and we did not authorization it and they said because they gave us a $70.00 Credit for all the problems we had back I sept2007 that was the renew and I have been fighting with Sprint to take all the charges of and cancel our account and they closed the account In Early April08 and I get a Call From A Collections telling me I owe all the charges for the return phone and for the extra charges that we did not make and told me that I need to pay this or they will mark my credit report with a bad mark. So After getting off the Phone with the collection (Jerk) I called Sprint customer to get to the bottom of the bill that we got and get the charges removed I talked to Five different people to try and get answers no really no luck I have to dispute it and see what happens. But as a Customer they really suck I take care of a Big Corp as a Manager and The way sprint treats there customers I would be fired with no questions ask.
Something has to happen with them. When said and done I will Not longer have sprint. And The sad Part about the whole thing Is that My Sister Worked for them 14 years and she agrees with me on the customer service.
Sprint will invest money in having their thugs prevent you from cancelling their service, not by improving the service. It is almost impossible to get service disconnected from Sprint wireless. Do NOT ever sign up with Sprint unless you want to be a lifetime customer.
I guess I’ll be the voice of dissent here. Sprint has been pretty good to me. Their voice and data coverage is as good as anyone (in this area at least) and their plans are competitive. Frankly, the only other viable option is AT&T, and the thought of giving more money to that company makes me cringe. I’m happy with Sprint.
I’m a current Sprint customer who’s soon to be with Verizon. I’ve found Sprint’s service to be lacking; from my plans coverage to customer service they rank at the bottom. It’s no surprise to me that they have such a high churn rate.
What thye need to do is expand their service area and then maybe customers would tend to use their phone more.
Sprint doesn’t require contracts for adding/removing services or changing plans. Only need contract for new service or discounts directly related to handset or billing credits. Exsisting customers do NOT need to renew a contract to add/remove services or change plans.
Sprint has the only equipment service protection that replaces your handset while you wait or ships to you overnight (try that with an AT&T smart device).
Changes to a bill cycle will only happen at your request…like when you ask for an employee/company discount.
Dan, please advertise the changes you are making. Its 2008 and people are living in 1998. And, get ride of all the foriegn call centers. (they really do make Sprint CS suck!)
Oh yea, and for a fast broadband connection, Sprint can not be beat. I travel up and down the east coast and never have a problem with my datacard.
Friends have been sent letters from Verizon saying they used to much data (max is 5GB) and will be disconnected. Not with Sprint, they are truly unlimited. plus, from what I have seen they simply everthing beats the others hands down. Sounds like a good plan for Dreamdeceiver.
I’ve been with Sprint for almost 7 years now and I continue to enjoy it. Great plans and best phones hands down. Not sure what kind of customer service you guys want. Its a freaking phone. I pay $100 bucks for unlimited everything and thats better than these other carriers. Granted when everybody can step their game up pricing will get even more competitive.
Sprint had been good to me until I got married and added my wife my plan.
I ended up with a $600 phone bill the first month. Why? Two new phones, fees that should not have been applied, $100 in data charges that were never accessed. and two family plans. Yeah, they put us on two family plans for two people. Who even double checks their billing system?
I had to chew out the place where I signed up, and tell Sprint where they screwed up. Their solution was, unknown to me, a temporary credit to get my initial bill back to normal. So the next month my bill was still several hundred dollars (should have been $62). After many phone calls, a couple more months, and the final solution of literally screaming and cursing the service rep, they gave me a permanent credit to fix the bill and shut me up. No explanation, just “here’s a credit so stop calling us to straighten out our billing system”. I then wanted to know exactly what I was being billed for and why, so the rep “transferred” me to another system (ie – country), where the new person said they couldn’t access that information and then hung up on me.
I’m sure Verizon and others have bad service, it’s the curse of telecom companies (BellSouth/AT&T will never get a penny from me ever again – they tried to charge me $5/month for NOT using enough long distance service from them). But Sprint is now on my youknowwhat-list.
I’ve had sprint for 3 years. My contract ends in June and I’m thinking of throwing a party. The problems Sprint is having, to be fair, are shared by most carriers: high costs. I’m switching to a pay-as-you-go plan through Net10. I’m sick of contracts, and if anything goes wrong with the current plan, they won’t fix your problem unless you sign up for another contract. I would rather pay for what I actually use than get a billion free weekend minutes if it means I’m not bound to a single high payment month after month. If Sprint really wants to maintain customers, they should dramatically cut the cost of payment plans and introduce a pay as you go service. The only way I will ever sign a contract again is for an iPhone, fortunately for other wireless carriers, I can’t afford it–yet.
My wife and I are joining the mass exodus from Sprint once our contract expires in August, we would of left sooner if it were not for the extortionist fee of 200 dollars per line. It seems that Sprint knows that most customers would rather to stay in their contract for 19 more months such as us, than to pay 400 termination fee. Like in a prior comment, I am refering all of my friends and family away from Sprint and count the days to when I or my wife can make a call going down the highway without dropping the call and to better customer service
I love to see SPRINT’s bottom line decrease every quarter. They are the WORST cell phone company that ever existed..LOL.. Die Sprint Die…I want to save my last Kick until your very last customer leaves and then I’ll kick twice for taking so long to jump ship….
Don’t be surprised that alot of people are coming out to bash Sprints customer service. It’s easy to jump on the bandwagon. Plus, alot of the negative comments come from people that have not switched before. I say, try some of the others then make an objective opinion for yourself. (foriegn call centers suck) All of the wireless carriers have churn, but not all have lower deposits like Sprint. This tends to attract a consumer that will drop it likes its hot sooner and go without wireless service, only to have Sprint take them back with a even still, lower than market average deposit. I say to Dan, tighten the credit requirments! You already are losing customers anyway that’ll try to come back becuase of finances. (seems to be a trend in retail. Cater to a lower class out of desperation and get taken down by the entitlement mentality that comes with them.) When the deposits are in line with AT&T and Verizon, consumers will see what customer service really is.
I have had Sprint for over 4 years and never had a problem with customer service. I had AT&T for a few months and they could not provide coverage (although CS was good). Verizons service is good as family has them but coverage is not as good as Sprints.
I’ll be satisfied when Sprint goes out of business. When I returned home from activating my Sprint wireless service, calls were repeatedly dropped. I called them (on my land line), and they told me they really couldn’t support the service in my area of town. They graciously allowed me to cancel the contract, but told me I still had to pay the $50 activation fee. They gave me a phone number I could call to appeal, but when I called it, the number was out of service! (Yes, this is a phone company.) Rot in hell Sprint, I’ll be dancing on your grave.
I have been with Sprint for many years and have had many experiences with their customer service that have sent the blood pressure soring. The last time I simply ended the question with one question. When does my contract end? What I feel is the interesting thing here is this is a lesson regarding customer service. Any company regardless of the service or product they offer will suffer as a result of poor customer service. I hope that other companys will see what has happend to Sprint and realize that if a customer is their most valuable asset. Treat them right to start with and they will stay.
Yeah, I have to agree with Dave, These guys are gangsters and thugs when it comes to working with the customer on replacing faulty phones and straightening out contracts. I plan on dropping them in June. Would of dropped their service earlier, but they used the $200 clause per phone to keep me till my contract expires. We have made sure to spread the word via email and through friends to stop using Sprint. In fact, Sprint away from their phones, stock, and bad business practices while you still can.
Wow this article is ironic. Sprint recently changed my billing cycle and I had nothing to do with it and made no changes on my account. I paid a 52.00 check last month when my bill is always 89.00 for me and my wife. We split 1200 minutes. 2 weeks later I get a bill for my regular 89.00. Why? because they changed my billing cycle as they desired. Do yourself a favor and switch as soon as you can…………… I look at my bills for the last 6 mos and why I paid 140.00 last month and used 600 of the 1200 minutes is nuts. I am switching just as soon as my contract is out. 3 months from now.
Disapointed in Texas……..
You have to ask youself if you’ve been a fool for signing up for telecom service contracts when it’s only been quite recently that most people’s monthly gasoline bill has exceeded their telecom bill.
People, wake up, cell phones are no longer chic nor are they status symbols.
With the cureent criminal state of the US telecom market, the best way out is to obtain an unlocked phone and buy T-Mobile’s (a German company but hey, US automaker’s also refused to think of the customer first & see were it led them) 1000 minutes for $100 dollars. The minutes even carry over a year.
After reading this stream of comments, my conclusion is unchanged: We all are hostages of all of the wireless carriers, because we want what they have even though their service is hit and miss. Prices will not come down, and competition will not result in better service, until they have paid off all of their massive capital investments.
After wrestling with Sprint over numerous issues, they escalated my situation to an executive representative. His approach was to deny the issues existed. I have never encountered such a combative attitude in the guise of customer service, anywhere. After seven years I’m gone!
Yesterday all hesse could talk about was wimax. They are focusing on the future when they should be focusing on the present.
They will continue to lose customers. I have been a long time Sprint customer and I cant wait to leave. The fact that he thinks the iphone is what made people leave is comical. It is the customer service. You can only cut corners on customer service for so long. Their billing is a nightmare total nightmare.
What business could survive losing this many customers?
I as well am more then happy to see this company slumping and its customers jumping a sinking ship…customer service is absolutely horrible. I bought 3 phones to have 2 of the 3 crap out on me within the first 8 months of a 2 year contract, so to fix the solution i was to ” buy 2 more phones and extend my contract, continue paying a service charge for the 2 that dont work monthly, or pay the opt out fee ” are these people brain dead??? why the hell would or should i ever continue to support a company that clearly porked me, then uses the slogan …. where our customers come first … bigger lies have never been told
I’ve had Sprint personally now for 8 years and I will continue to stand by them. You really just have to know how to work the system (and I don’t mean cheat it) to get what you need. Every company has bad customer service in one way or another, and its all really in how YOU deal with it.
I am also responsible for our 22 lines of mobile service at my office, and we just switched on Friday to Sprint from Verizon because of Verizon’s customer service. In the 3.5 years that I have held my position at my company, Verizon has been nothing but a problem. I’ve been thru about 2.5 different company reps, I’ve had equipment that was total crap, and start to fail before 6months of usage. It would take them weeks to do things that really should have only taken about a day or two. Verizon is really an total inept company and with their slogan of “We never stop working for you”, I really feel that should have been “We never start working for you”, cus it feels like they never did.
I’m a pretty picky consumer, but Sprint has always been great for me. Solid coverage on business trips, good prices on phones,and no hassles on costumer service. I used customer service just yesterday to get specifics on coverage in Canada, and got a full explanation of what I needed. I’m sticking with Sprint.
Been with Sprint since they entered the business. I’m gone as of tomorrow morning. Don’t try to call me because chances are you won’t get through (and the signal will fail several times before I can get back to you). These used to be great back in the day. What happened??? All I know is that “I’m mad as hell, and I’m not gonna take it anymore.”
WOW…after reading all of the complaints…I am glad I never went with them. I noticed everyone stating that they are heading over to verizon…I wish you luck if you DON’T live in a large city or town. Where I live (Clayton, NC), verizon coverage is horrible. Alltel is the best hands down in all aspects In my opinion.
Before you guys switch, see if a friend or neighbor in your area have verizon or alltel and ask about coverage. Thats what i did and I have never been happier… customer since 2003
Ive been a Sprint customer for a years I use to be happy with the customer service. Now the csr that sprint has i cannot make them understatnd what i need what the problem is anything it seems that the do not understand English. I am really upset that sprint csr cannot help me. I am to the point where I am looking into other providers with great csr and client experience. Sprint needs to really be more customer friendly. I felt when trying to get help that i was not getting anywhere.
My daughter had Spring for four years. Her phone broke and the rep sold her a new service. After hours and hours of trying to straighten out paying for three services and having only one phone I gave up. My daughter passed away last week. God ended that Spring contract. By the way, CEO, nice touch having to take the death certificate to the rep to prove my daughter died and her remark that they would waive the disconnect fee. Bravo!
My small business had 18 phones with Nextel. Things were good. The radios were great, the customer service was ok and the pricing was acceptable. Then Sprint and Nextel announced their “merger of equals”. Things went to hell in a handbasket very quickly. The customer service is the worst I have ever encountered. I ordered three replacement phones, paid for all three, recieved one and never got the other two. Nobody at Sprint could tell me why or fix the problem. I called Customer service 4 times only to be left on hold for over an hour and then be hung up on. I paid over $2K to break my contracts with Sprint. That was the best $2K I thnk I have ever spent. They did rip me off for $600 for the phones I never recieved. I can not think of any company that we have ever delt with in 30 years of being in business who is as absolutely horrible as Sprint. Way to go Dan Hesse and company!
I can see why this is happening, I once spent 3 hours on the phone with support trying to add a corporate discount to my plan only to have the first person tell me i did not even have a sprint phone, the second person said they “Did not have access to the database my account was in” the 3rd person said the company i worked for didn’t exist, the 5th person told me that there was nothing they could do… After 11 different support people i was transferred to a department called “Business Retention” and they took care of it for me… This was after 5 seperate times i was told that an unlimited data pack (15 dollars a month) was added to my account and i was charged 300 dollars in overages several times. Moral of the story… If you call sprint demand to be transferred to retention, its pretty much the only way to have an english-speaking person help you in any way
i really hate having to call sprint customer service. it is by far the worst service. my bill should always be the same amount never go over my minutes yet some months they charge over 30.00usd more than previous months. my contract ends in 1month after that. switching to a different company. ITS ALL ABOUT GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE. SPRINT KNOWS NOTHING ABOUT IT.
I love Sprint. I mean honestly how many times do you have to deal with customer service. Every time I’ve called they’ve helped me out. I have been a customer since 2000. My phone drops calls,but no matter what phone service your with, calls will be dropped. I am going to give the new guy a chance.
I don’t want to beat the dead horse, but, honestly, Sprint’s customer service suck big time. I want to keep this professtional, but just the thought of its customer service makes me sick. Sprint decided to “upgrade” its website and online account recently. When I called to tell the customer service I couldn’t access my account to monitor my text message usages, he said that I would have to pay the extra fee and no consideration would be given. Meanwhile, NO ONE from the company told me that I could get unlimited text message for just $10 more. When I did find out about it (from my own research), it took over 45 of my any time minutes so that the representative could “make sure it is done correctly.” I mean, talk about customer service. No to mention, that renew my contract!
The contract deal is like being held hostage. Cain’t make any changes without extending the contract. I will be gone as soon as mine runs out.
Sprint was my first wireless company, and I think I lasted with them a little less then a year before I made the switch to Verizon, mostly do to some “Ghost” charges, and the fact that most of my friends also had Verizon which helped to lower my bill by close to $35 a month. I haven’t looked back since.
I don’t know why Sprint has such a bad name. I, like many of my extneded family members have used Sprint for over 5 years. Great service. Customer Service is fine, too. It’s just as good as anywhere else. If you think Verizon or AT&T is any better, you’re just jumping on the bandwagon of kicking Sprint while they’re down. We also have the internet card. Best and fastest wireless internet service provider out there.
I placed a bill payment online for $150 and received an error that it couldnt be processed. I then checked by bank account and saw it was debited. So I called Sprint and they said thy had no idea where the payment went. Then, a second debit hit my bank account…without my permission.
After 3 weeks of being on the Phone with the philipines and being hung up on countless times nothing was resolved. I had to fill out an affiadvit with my bank. My contract is up this onth, im just waiting on the 3G iphone to go to Att.
sprint has ripped me for more than 1100 dollars in unjustified fees and have made no attempt to correct them….. this has caused me nothing but heartachce… i am thru with SPRINT
Having been an AT&T customer for five years and getting the eternal run around from them I switched To Sprint. Sure if you talk to their CS at times they are not the best but I have always gotten Great CS from their e-mail help desk. My issues have always gotten handled.
The biggest reason I left AT&T was PRICE! I had a 1000 min plan for $40 with only roll-over that they refused to give me mobile to mobile or text without massive add on costs. They even refused my government discount.
I switched to Sprint and got the $49 1250 min. 7pm N&W, Unlimited text, UNL-Email, UNL-Mobile to Mobile, UNL-Internet/Data and I get my Govt. Discount off that plus they gave me another $5 for going paperless and I have never been happier. So actually I hope they stay around because AT&T refused to do anything but overcharge me.
I have had Sprint for at least 5 years and have had a mixed experience. The phone reps have been pretty helpful but the web site simply sucks! Most of the time it seems that I can’t get any more detailed billing information than the summary amount of what is due. I will be “Sprinting” away as soon as my contract ends!
Their service rep ERASED MY ADDRESS BOOK!!! I wanted to drive my car through their front window. My family has 5 accounts, we’re leaving in August.
I had an issue with a defective phone they sent me and when I tried to call customer service I had to explain my story to 7 different people. I was on the phone for 1.5 hours and all they said in the end was I would have to pay 50.00 for the deductable on my insurance. Hello! you sold me a bad phone! Never again.
I’ve spent 4 months trying to straighten out my bill with Sprint. What a hassle. They say they have fixed it but it still comes up wrong. It is too long a story to put in this comment but believe me, they are real screw ups. Unfortunately, I am stuck with them until Jan 2010 but when that time expires, I will look somewhere else
Sprint:
I have been a customer since 2000 and am close to leaving because
1)You try and squeeze every dime out of people when they attempt to cash in on the “free” phone that they are entitled to by contract every 18 months-you now try to charge an “activation fee”-I already pay over $1000 a year to you and you need to make an extra $15? It just looks horrible.
2) Roaming-you do not notify the customer clearly when they have entered a roam area, then tack on almost $1 per minute to the monthly bill.
3)As others stated, customer service reps-I get the feeling you rip them off on salary as well-start listening to calls and can the bottom 25-30% of these guys-because in my experience, 1 out of 4 at least are truly awful, I have gotten better CS at a Pizza Hut by far.
I hope this Co. goes under. One of the worst things they could have done was introduce the “contract”. I have had my contract renewed 7 times in 3 years, just because my needs changed. If you have to keep your customers by locking them into a contract, then you may want to rethink the way you are running your business. Great Job Sprint….
I think the problem is the color of their logo, its sends a negative subconsoncious message like a yellow jacket wasp does. I never had any problems with Sprint’s service before I swithed to Verizon because I could get the Treo I wanted through them.
Sprints customer service and billing are HORRIBLE! I have had sprint for years, and I have received “ghost” charges, CSR’s that can’t speak english. They even one day changed my rate plan without my knowledge or consent. Then sent me a bill with $200 in overages. Several Better Business Bereau complaints later, I finally got the billing straitened out. I will never do business with sprint again… EVER!
I am thrilled to know that Sprint is rapidly losing market share. When CEO Dan Hesse says “we continue to place the highest priority on losing churn by improving the customer experience” he must be referring to his competitor’s customer experience, because dealing with Sprint is like dealing with “Predator” where the invisible monster is annhilating you. My wife and I were sick of Sprint and the outrageous hidden charges so when the contract ran out we dutifully sent in our phone and cancelled it.
End of story, or so we thought.
Three years later I found out that Sprint automatically renewed the contract without any authorization from us and had been billing us for “other charges” to the tune of $20.00 plus per month for a total of over $400.00. Nobody at Sprint can come up with an explanation for the “other charges” or any paperwork to support why we are being billed while their collection agency tells us that the charges are “legimitate.”
I guess this is one more example of Mr. Hesse’s “improving customer experience.”
Our experience has indeed improved dramatically, now that we changed carrier and are no longer being shaken down by Sprint.
I actually had Sprint shortly after the turn of the century in 2001. The very thing this article is talking about is the exact thing they had problems with back then! I am shocked Sprint still hasn’t figured this out! If there is ever a wireless phone company that has so worn out its welcome, it’s Sprint! Lousy customer service is very hard to turn around.
I’ve had sprint for years and can’t tell you the numerous headachs I’ve had dealing with their customer service. Furthermore, It’s insane if your one who travels and cant rely on your cell phone b/c of poor reception “Can U Hear Me Now” Thank God I wasn’t in a life or death situation. I cant wait until my contract is up in 1 year and then it’s Hello Verizon!
I have been a NexTel customer – no a loyal, high-end NexTel customer – since 1999. The proverbial camel’s back was broken last week by yet another agonizing encounter with “Customer Service.”
C’mon August – when it get’s here I will leave this company the day my contract is up and will never look back. The funny thing is – I don’t believe that up until now they have cared in any way shape or form about their churn rate.
Sprint’s “customer service” consists of the store rep pointing to a Red Phone in the corner and having you make the call. The *only* reason I have stayed with them is because of the low rate for my usage, plus the unlimited long distance landline option. All of these comments deal with the crappy customer service (oxymoron) that Sprint is famous for. If they don’t stop dropping calls or not forwarding my messages, I’ll take the $200 hit and bust the contract. Beware Sprint, there are millions of us out here just as pissed off as te ones that left.
Well, Sprint once sent letters to certain cusotmers that stated those customers were no longer wanted. Now they are losing customers. Is anyone surprised?
I was a Sprint customer with 3 mobile phones for 8 years. I dropped them in January. poor coverage, poor service, prices too high were all in my reasons for changing, but I was forced to make the change becuase Sprint did not offer any phones I could use internationally by changing SIM chips. Now I have a local phone number in very country I travel to and only need one phone. Thank you ATT. Besides the ATT rate and service is better.
As a Sprint customer for more than eight years, I left Sprint a month ago – and I couldn’t be happier!!! Their customer service really started to suck when they merged with Nextel.
Sprint is the worst in customer service because if you need to make changes to your service they add another year to your contract.
That is absurd, and ridiculous. They are the only phone company that does this. T-Mobile dosent, Cingular dosent and I dont think Verizon Does this.
Worst Customer Service. I had been with sprint since 9 years and they show no loyality to existing customers. I had spent 6 hours on phone with them to ship the correct phone. horrible people!!.
Their new CEO doesn’t answer the phone, their customer service people do. I’ll leave too when my contract is done too.
Oops, it is Amazon.com reselling a Verizon (and also AT&T) V9m for $99.99 with a new plan. Sprint can’t hang with the big dogs, they are losing too much money to offer good phones and good plans.
After six years my contract is up (August) and I am done with Sprint for good.
The primary reason? I cannot make a simple change to my account such as adding text services without them automatically renewing my contract for two years. This is wrong!!!
I have made zero changes for the last two years just so I can dump this company.
Because of poor customer service, I left Sprint 8 years ago. Impoliteness not good for business.
I left sprint years ago, horrible customer service, outright lies. I heard a couple months back they voluntarily terminated customers contracts that called in too many times in a month for help…..
Hey Mr.CEO…. does not take an MBA to figure out why churn is so high…
been with sprint for over 6 years with family/data plan. IM OUT IN AUGUST!! They’re customer service is horrible! I’ve been lied too, hung up on, cheated, and been on held forever! So long SPRINT!
Been there done that. Now have AT&yuk to contend with. More drops. Same ol’stuff. Excuses and rude service.
Each time I (attempt) to talk with a customer service rep I feel somehow slimy. They raise rates then tell you that the rates aren’t material changes to the contract!!?!!
I called sprint just now to upgrade my phone, and I quoted the offer that is currently on Verizon’s site ($150 for a Motorola V9M), and Sprint would not match.
It’s a matter of weeks before I am gone, and I have been a sprint customer since September, 1998. I will never go back to this company, even if the German’s buy them. Stay away from sprint!!!!!!
Most of the replys to this article point to the customer serivce issue. I couldnt agree more. I have been with Sprint for many years and if the customer serivce doesnt get better soon I will be switching as well. The Spint customer service is the worst I have seen by any company EVER!!!
I have them where I want them now days. My monthly bill is now more than the cancelation fee.
I too have delt with their customer disservive department and was even yelled at by one of their managers because I was angry they overcharged me $600. I never actually got the money back I had to settle for a credit on my account.
Once you get the bad name in the market,you are done…That’s the problem with sprint,eventhough getting the best CEO around the world won’t help sprint.
Monitor and fixing the customer reps will help some level.I also left the sprint for their customer servce.Getting the new technology or tools help as long as sprint maintains the ” Customer Service ” on higher priority.
Now will sprint wake up !.I have a few months left with them after that I will be looking for to make a move. all ways a errow on bill,droped calls, and customer service sprint does not know what that is. if you get one that can speak english and under stand you they are rude. Most of the time customer service does not even have a clue what you are trying to tell them they NO speak english.
I hate Sprint. I am constantly dealing with dropped calls, the e-mail on my Palm Treo is slow and I cannot, after 1 year of having this service, send e-mails from my treo. I have given up calling customer ‘dis-service”. Even more insulting is the fact that I have received a number of calls on my cell phone from Sprint trying to sell me more of the incompetent sevice they offer. They are the worst. Nextel was great but went downhill as soon as Sprint bought them.
I hope they go out of business so I can get out of my contract before April 2009. The people that they hire to handle customer service are rude and stupid.
They suck.
No surprise here, most of what is being said here is spot on. Sprint treats its “Existing” customers like crap and shows no loyalty or gratitude to its “best” customers. Instead they solicit new customers with the better deals. I have been a customer for a decade and am finally fed up. I can get the same (or a better) deal switching to another carrier and will do so this summer.
I have been with Sprint for 8 years. Thier service has been getting worse for the last two years. My calls get dropped all the time. I use my cell phone for business. When I am talking to a client my calls drop. It makes me look unprofessional! I will be leaving for AT&T this week.
Sprint deserves this, their customer service is horrible. It’s funny no one is taking the bait with their new $99 everything plan. As entincing as it sounds, I would rather pony up the extra cash to be treated like a valued customer instead of a bother. Screw you Sprint, I’m so glad I dumped you and your crappy service a few years ago.
My nightmarish experience with Sprint and that of hundreds of other customers (I’ve read about)appears to be the tip of the iceberg. I sincerely hope that word-of-mouth negative customer service information eventually sinks Sprint. In my case I was the victim of identity theft by someone who opened a Sprint account. After months of phone calls, emails, faxes and police reports (I submitted) documenting the fact that I was the victim…..Sprint continuously harassed me for payment, turned (non-payment) information into the credit bureaus, were non responsive, discourteous and unhelpful, treated me like a criminal, turned the account over to two collection agencies… and all for a $300.00 debt that was not mine. I eventually gave up and paid the bill…but my credit rating has been sullied and I am, because of Sprint, still being victimized.
I have had Sprint for years and tried to cancel last month. They are desperate to keep people and after several attempts to leave, they made me several offers to stay and I did. They have one year to prove themselves or I am out. Their customer service is horrible.
I have a lot of faith in Dan’s ability to turn Sprint around. I am sure that with the renewed focus on reducing churn, Sprint will return to sustainable profitability over time.
Sprint by far has the worst customer service in the market. I could never understand how all of their employees feel it’s there right to be rude. Even worse, their sales reps lie to you and feel they are not accountable for anything they tell you. It feels like once you’re under contract they try their hardest to $crew you. Unfortunately, I’m stuck with them for another year. Once it’s up, I’m out. I hope they continue to get hit hard until they truly change their staff and their attitudes!
We left Sprint after 7 years,and will never go back. Service is incompetent………..
People have been leaving sprint for years. Ever since they merged with Nextel their customer service has been horrendous. In addition, AT&T (previously cingular) and Verizon have phones which have more to offer both functionally and aesthetically.
I plan on leaving sprint this summer… this is much over due.
Dan Hesse, is the man to straighten this mess out. At AT&T he did a wonderful job.
When the going gets tough the tough get going. Give the guy a year and he will have Sprint on the right track. Customer service will improve and the company will be in the green.
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i’ve been working for Sprint-Telesales for almost 2 years now. and i admit i’m not an american like most of our customers are. sometimes we get nice customers, sometimes when they hear that we don’t have the same accecnt they refuse to listen to us.and i know that some of our customers may sometimes burn lines to get things done, we are experiencing the same feeling when we are helping our customers to check their rebates or if they request for a warm transfer and we have high call volume. but Sprint is encouraging us to extend this effort for our customers, i’m personally aware that we need to improve on our customer satisfaction experience. they are now more strict on call monitoring and there are also tape pulls if customer calls in to file a complaint about a certain rep. and they were provided w/ proper disciplinary action and if its really grave offense it comes to termination from the company. i understand what a customer may feel if thay have had a bad service, poor reception,unresolved concern, and inconvenieces but here on our end we are trying to resolve them one by one. we are also learning your accent so that you can understand us better, though we are asians. and i know it’s not racial issues for some but sometimes when they hear rep w/ thick accents they don’t want to cooperate anymore, that’s also difficult on our end here. but we are working on it. we may not change over night, i personally hope and looking forward for Sprint to soar up high with all our efforts… as for me in every call… be the change we want to see.^_^